Core Faculty

Roger Lewis, M.D., Ph.D., FACEP

Department Chair

Director, Research Fellowship Program

Professor of Emergency Medicine-in-Residence

rlewis@dhs.lacounty.gov

Nichole Bosson, M.D., MPH, FAEMS

Associate Director, EMS Fellowship Program

Assistant Medical Director, Los Angeles County EMS Agency

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

nbosson@dhs.lacounty.gov

David Burbulys, M.D., FACEP, FAAP

Associate Director, Residency Training Program

Health Sciences Clinical Professor

dburbulys@@dhs.lacounty.gov

Bradley Chappell, D.O., M.H.A., FACOEP

Director, Rapid Medical Evaluation Program
Director, ED Administration Fellowship Program

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

bchappell@dhs.lacounty.gov

Ilene Claudius, M.D.

Director, Process and Quality Improvement Program

Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor

iclaudius@dhs.lacounty.gov

Clinton Coil, M.D., MPH

Chief Quality Officer

Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor

ccoil@dhs.lacounty.gov

Ross Donaldson, M.D., MPH, CTropMed

Director, Global Health Program

Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

Adjunct Associate Professor of Epidemiology

rdonaldson@dhs.lacounty.gov

Madonna Fernandez-Frackelton, M.D., FACEP

Vice Chair, Education

Director, Residency Training Program

Health Sciences Clinical Professor

madfernandez@dhs.lacounty.gov

Ross Fleischman, M.D., MCR

Director, Clinical Informatics Program

EM Workgroup Lead, LAC ORCHID EHR Project

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

rfleischman@dhs.lacounty.gov

Marianne Gausche-Hill, M.D., FACEP, FAAP

Director, EMS Fellowship Program

Medical Director, Los Angeles County EMS Agency

Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

mgausche-hill@dhs.lacounty.gov

Timothy Horeczko, M.D., MSCR, FACEP, FAAP

Emergency and Pediatric Emergency Medicine Faculty

Director, Research Associates in the Department of Emergency Medicine
Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

thoreczko@@dhs.lacounty.gov

Dennis Hsieh, M.D., J.D.

Director, Social Medicine and Population Health

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

dhsieh@dhs.lacounty.gov

Timothy Jang, M.D.

Director, Emergency Ultrasound Program

Director, Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship

Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

tjang@dhs.lacounty.gov

Amy Kaji, M.D., Ph.D.

Executive Vice Chair

Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

akaji@dhs.lacounty.gov

Yiju Teresa Liu, M.D., RDMS

Associate Director, Ultrasound Program

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

yliu4@dhs.lacounty.gov

Sarah Lopez, M.D.

Patient Safety Officer

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

slopez4@dhs.lacounty.gov

Adedamola Ogunniyi, M.D.

Associate Director, Residency Training Program

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

aogunniyi@dhs.lacounty.gov

Patricia Padlipsky, M.D., FAAP

Director, Pediatric Emergency Department
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor

ppadlipsky@dhs.lacounty.gov

Ryan Pedigo, M.D.

Director, Medical Student Clerkship Program

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

rpedigo@dhs.lacounty.gov

Mike Peterson, M.D., FAAEM, FACEP

Vice Chair, Clinical Operations

Health Sciences Clinical Professor

mpeterson@dhs.lacounty.gov

Moh Saidinejad, M.D., MBA, FAAP, FACEP

Director, Patient Experience Program

Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor

msaidinejad@dhs.lacounty.gov

Shamsher Samra, M.D., Ph.M.

Emergency Medicine Faculty

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

ssamra@dhs.lacounty.gov

Shira Schlesinger, M.D., MPH

Director, EMS and Disaster Preparedness Program
Medical Director, Paramedic Training Institute, LA County EMS Agency

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

sschlesinger2@dhs.lacounty.gov

Manny Singh, M.D., MBE

Emergency Medicine Faculty

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

masingh@dhs.lacounty.gov

David Tanen, MD

Associate Director, Residency Training Program

Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

dtanen@dhs.lacounty.gov

David Tanen, M.D., FAAEM, FACMT

Associate Director, Residency Training Program

Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

dtanen@emedharbor.edu

Juliana Tolles, M.D., M.H.S

Emergency Medicine Faculty

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

jtolles@dhs.lacounty.gov

Denise Whitfield, M.D.

Emergency Medicine Services Faculty

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

dwhitfield@dhs.lacounty.gov

Andrea Wu, M.D., MMM, FACEP

Director, Adult Emergency Department

Co-Director, ED Administration Fellowship

Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor

awu3@dhs.lacounty.gov

Kabir Yadav, M.D., M.S., M.S.H.S., FACEP

Vice Chair, Academic Affairs

Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine

kyadav@dhs.lacounty.gov

Kelly D. Young, M.D., MS, FAAP

Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship Program

Health Sciences Clinical Professor

kyoung3@dhs.lacounty.gov

Emeritus Faculty

Robert Hockberger, M.D., FACEP

Department Chair Emeritus

Professor of Emergency Medicine

rhockberger@dhs.lacounty.gov

Diane Birnbaumer, M.D., FACEP

Emeritus Senior Clinical Educator

Professor of Emergency Medicine

dbirnbaumer@dhs.lacounty.gov

Wendy Coates, M.D., FACEP

Emeritus Senior Education Specialist
Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine

wcoates@dhs.lacounty.gov

Stan Inkelis, M.D., FAAP

Emeritus Professor of Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Health Sciences Clinical Professor of Pediatrics

inkelis@emedharbor.edu

James Niemann, M.D., FACEP

Emeritus Senior Faculty

Professor of Emergency Medicine-in-Residence

jniemann@dhs.lacounty.gov

Clinical Faculty

Zahir Basrai, M.D.

Jonathan Birnbaum, M.D.

Diane Birnbaumer, M.D.

Nicole Bosson, M.D.

Manny Celedon, M.D.

Wendy Coates, M.D.

Marc Cohen, M.D.

Amy Douglas, M.D.

Susannah Empson, M.D.

Lourdes Escolona, M.D.

Robert Hockberger, M.D.

Colin Hoff, M.D.

Stanley Inkelis, M.D.

Ziyad Khesbak, M.D.

Mike Maruska, M.D.

Bobby Missaghi, M.D.

James Niemann, M.D.

Eleanor Oakley, M.D.

Jonathan Osgood, M.D.

Neil Patel, M.D.

Kian Preston-Suni, M.D.

Charles "Dan" Schnorr, M.D.

Alyssa Scott, M.D.

Patrick Shanovich, M.D.

Pranav Shetty, M.D.

Sonia Simms, M.D.

Thomas Solomon, M.D.

Shirley Tung, M.D.

Joyce Wang, M.D.

Richard Washofsky, M.D.

Curtice Wong, M.D.